Academic Staff
Administrative Staff
Research Support Staff
Technical Staff
Honorary Associates
Postgraduate Students

Academic Staff

Name Position
Prof. Jonathan Aitchison Head of School and Edgeworth David Chair
Prof. Elaine Baker UNESCO/IOC Chair in Marine Sciences
Dr Eleanor Bruce Senior Lecturer
Dr Nathaniel Butterworth Postdoctoral Research Associate
Prof. Geoff Clarke Professor
Dr Adriana Dutkiewicz Senior Lecturer
Dr Robert Fisher Senior Lecturer
Dr Nicolas Flament Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr Jo Gillespie Lecturer
Dr Raewyn Graham Research Associate
Dr Dan Harris Associate Lecturer
Prof. Philip Hirsch Professor and Director of AMRC
Assoc. Prof. Dale Dominey-Howes Associate Professor
Assoc. Prof. Tom Hubble Associate Professor in Engineering and Environmental Geology
Assoc. Prof. Kurt Iveson Associate Professor
Dr Yayoi Lagerqvist Senior Researcher
Dr Kayla Maloney Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Kara Matthews Postdoctoral Research Associate
Prof. Phil McManus Professor of Urban and Environmental Geography
Prof. Dietmar Müller Professor of Geophysics and Australian Laureate Fellow
Dr Jeff Neilson Senior Lecturer
Dr Daniel Penny Senior Lecturer
Assoc. Prof. Bill Pritchard Associate Professor
Assoc. Prof. Patrice Rey Associate Professor
Dr Maria Seton ARC Future Fellow
Ms Edwina Tanner Associate Lecturer
Dr Ana Vila-Concejo ARC Future Fellow
Assoc. Prof. Jody Webster Associate Professor
Dr Simon Williams Postdoctoral Fellow
Assoc. Prof. Derek Wyman Associate Professor/Deputy Head of School

Visiting Fellows (Current)

Name Email
Sascha Brune
Dr Bibhash Nath
Christopher Smith

Visiting Fellows (Past)

Name  Email
Mucahid Bayrak  
Angel Puga Bernabeu
John Crump
Dr Punarbasu Chaudhuri Email Punarbasu
David Gubbins
Marc Humble  
Kanokwan Manorom
Rolf Mjelde Email Rolf
Gabriele Morra  
Paul Wessel
Hong Yang
Henry Yeung  

Administrative Staff



Ms Sue Taylor School Administration Manager
Ms Nikki Montenegro Executive Assistant and Marketing Officer
Mr Monish Sharma Administrative Assistant
Ms Nelly Liew School Finance Manager
Mr Ramana Karanam Team Leader, Financial Support Services
Mr Troy Mutton Geosciences Liaison Librarian

Research Support Staff

Name Position
Lan Hui Research Officer
Research Support Staff for EarthByte Group
Research Support Staff for EarthByte Group
Research Support Staff for EarthByte Group
Natalia Scurrah Research Officer - Mekong Research Group
Research Support Staff for EarthByte Group
Research Support Staff for EarthByte Group

Technical Staff



Mr John Cannon Lead Software Developer for GPlates Project
Mr Michael Chin Software Developer for GPlates Project
Mr Tom Savage Water, Sediment & Chemical Lab Manager

Honorary Associates


Name Research Interests
Assoc. Prof. Gavin Birch Assessment of impact of marine waste disposal, Determining estuarine processes and developing a contaminant model for complex mixed/stratified estuaries, Constructing models to quantify sediment toxicity, Providing remedial options for effective stormwater management, recycling and water harvesting, Developing sedimentary metals as a new ecosystem indicator for estuarine environments
Dr David Blair Sonar, ocean acoustics
Emma Calgaro Building resilient tourism destination futures in a world of uncertainty: Assessing destination vulnerability in Khao Lak, Patong Beach and Phi Phi Don, Thailand to the 2004 Tsunami
Dr David Chapman Geographic Information Science
Prof. John Connell Political, economic and social geography
Assoc. Prof. Peter Cowell Geomorphology of coasts and continental shelves
Filippo Dall'Osso
Integrated Coastal Zones Management (ICZM), with special regard to risk analysis and vulnerability assessment to extreme natural events, environmental impact assessment, multi-hazard analysis, coastal inundation and erosion processes, tsunamis, sea level rise, GIS and Remote Sensing techniques
A/Prof Deirdre Dragovich Rock weathering in different environments
Professor David Gubbins The origins of the Earth's magnetic field
Dr Michael Hughes Coastal oceanography and sediment transport; morphodynamics
Dr Min Jiang Climate change adaptation, Environmental law and policy, Sustainable tourism
A/Prof Jock Keene Seafloor mapping
Professor Iain Mason Geophysics and mine-site exploration
Scott McKinnon Queering Disasters in the Antipodes: investigating the experiences of LGBTI people in natural disasters
Dr Robert (Bob) Musgrave Research Geophysicist in the Geological Survey of New South Wales
Dr Gordon Packham Tectonic development of the Tasmanides
Professor Andy Short Coastal processes and coastal  morphology