Geosciences Seminar Series

Thinking Space Seminar Series 2016: Geographers and the Environment at the University of Sydney

These sessions explore current issues and debates in human geography and the social sciences through presentations about key thinkers, cross-cutting themes, skills, methodologies, and current postgraduate research. All welcome!

All sessions take place on Wednesdays from 1pm - 2pm in the Madsen Conference Room 449, Madsen Building F09, School of Geosciences, University of Sydney. Presentations will normally take up 30-45 minutes, leaving plenty of time for comments and discussion. Most of the sessions will be recorded and distributed to those interested.

For more information, or if you want to be included on the mailing list, please contact or

View the Thinking Space Poster.

Current Schedule

Date Speaker Title Contact Time Location
10 Aug   2016

Dr Amanda Tattersall & Assoc Prof Kurt Iveson

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

Urban Alliances: a strategy for organising the 21st Century City

amanda.tattersall@sydney.edu.au

kurt.iveson@sydney.edu.au

1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
17 Aug 2016

Dr Ming Yang

World Bank

Knowledge management and sustainable city development in SE Asia ming.yang@gmail.com 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
24 Aug 2016

Dr Jeff Neilson

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

Wallacean Geography: The work and legacy of Alfred Russel Wallace jeffrey.neilson@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
31 Aug 2016

Dr Sophia Maalsen

University of Sydney

The Praxis and Politics of Building Urban Dashboards sophia.maalsen@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
7 Sep 2016

Prof Helga Leitner & Prof Eric Sheppard

University of California Los Angeles

Commodifying an urban commons - contested accumulations through displacement in Jakarta hleitner@geog.ucla.edu 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
14 Sep 2016

Pratichi Chatterjee (1)

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

The work of property- who belongs here pratichi.chatterjee@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
14 Sep 2016

Alistair Sisson (2)

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

Cités, slums, ‘shitholes’: Making sense of territorial stigmatisation alistair.sisson@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
21 Sep 2016 Dr Brad Garrett Researching Transgression in an Age of Dread b.garrett@soton.ac.uk 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
28 Sep 2016 Dr Robert Fisher "A bright shining lie?" Are the multiple objectives of REDD+ achievable? robert.fisher@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
5 Oct 2016

Dr Raewyn Graham

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

“We love our horses. We aren’t in it because we hate them”: an analysis of love, emotion and attachment in international jumps racing. raewyn.graham@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
12 Oct 2016 Lisa-Michele Bott (1) Building adaptive capacity through trans-local social capital lbott@uni-koel.de 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
12 Oct 2016

Annie Wu (2)

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

Temporary labour movements in Timor-Leste- An ethnographic study of emigration and social remittances annie.wu@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
19 Oct 2016

Dr Jo Gillespie

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

Wetlands Conservation and Property Rights: a legal geography approach josephine.gillespie@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
26 Oct 2016

Craig Lyons (1)

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

The production of informal landscapes of musical performance in Sydney craig.lyons@sydney.edu.au 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449
26 Oct 2016

Tamsin Fisher (2)

School of Geosciences, University of Sydney

Mobile media tools for ecological citizenship in the contemporary city tamsin.e.fisher@gmail.com 1pm - 2pm Madsen Conference Room 449

Thinking Space Program Archive